How the App Store featured lists work

I published my game Armageddon Wars a few weeks ago and was very lucky to get on the “New and Noteworthy” list under the games category. Apps only stay on that list for one week, but then to my surprise I saw it on the “What’s hot” list. Again Apps only last a week on the “What’s hot” list. So, I assumed that was that, but again to my surprise I saw yesterday that it was on the “What we’re playing” list.

Anyway, I was looking at the screenshots just now and I noticed that the exact same apps get on all the lists:

I thought that these lists were hand picked by Apple, but that seems only to be the case with the “New and Noteworthy” list. Once you are on that list you automatically get moved onto the other lists after a week.

Edit:

Just now I noticed my game stayed on the “What we’re playing” list for much longer than a week, but it seems that after a week it moved down the list, so the user has to press “see all” to see the game. Also, in some countries it stayed on the “what’s hot” list. In Australia for instance it’s still on the first page of that list. I assume that’s because the game got a higher star rating there than in other countries

Leave a Reply

